Full Information and List Of All President of India 1947 to 2021

The President of India is the head of the country and the first citizen of the country. All the three armies (water, land and air) of India are commanded by the President. The President of India is elected by the elected members of the three houses of the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha and the Legislative Assembly. The term of the President of India is 5 years.

List of Presidents of India:

India has had 13 Presidents since independence. Presently the 14th President of India is Shri Ram Nath Kovind. Apart from all these 13 presidents, there have been 3 acting presidents who were created after the death of the incumbent president. The first President of India was Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

There have been two presidents in Indian history who died while in office, Zakir Hussain and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed. The present President of India is Shri Ram Nath Kovind, who was sworn in as the President on 25 July 2017.

Qualifications to Become President:-

That person should be a citizen of India. Presidential candidate must be above 35 years of age. That person should be qualified to be elected as a member of the Lok Sabha. The person should not hold any office of profit.

President of India Selection Process- Presidential Election Process :=

The President is elected by the Electoral College. The Electoral College consists of the members of the elected Board, Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies, etc., electing the President together. Machines are not used for Presidential elections.

Rashtrapati Bhavan (Residence of the President) :

  • The Rashtrapati Bhavan of India is located in New Delhi, the capital of India.
  • The Rashtrapati Bhavan was designed by British architect Edwin Landseer Lutyens. The Viceroy’s House of India and England was built by Edwin Lutyens, for this he had to travel between the two countries for almost 20 years continuously.
  • Rashtrapati Bhavan is a four-store building with 340 rooms. Including reception room, guest room and office. Also known as Haveli. It is also the official residence of the President.
  • The Rashtrapati Bhavan campus is spread over 130 hectares (320 acres). It is the largest inhabited place in the world by area.

President’s Salary and Allowances:

  • President salary is Rs 5 lakh. And there is no tax on it.
  • Apart from this, free medical facilities and accommodation are available.
  • The President’s wife is also given Rs 30,000 every month as secretarial assistance.

After Retirement:

  • Gets a pension of Rs 1.5 lakh every month.
  • Free accommodation for life
  • Phone facility is also available, two free landlines and one mobile phone
  • Rs.60,000 per year to retain staff
  • Free travel by rail or plane. Can take a man along.

When can the President impose emergency?

There are three types of emergency provision in the constitution

  • National Emergency (Article 352)
  • President’s Rule (Article 356)
  • Economic Emergency (Article 360)

When we talk about the President of India, it is very natural to come to mind that who were the people who served the country with the post of President. In this list you will get information from the first President of India to the current President Term of office Remark. Along with this, information about the tenure of all those President will also be available here.

List Of All President of India 1947 to 2021



Term of office

Vice President


01 Dr. Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Rajendra Prasad belonged to Bihar, he was also called Gandhi of Bihar. He was the first President of India. He became president twice.
02 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967 Zakir Hussain Radhakrishnan was also a philosopher and writer. He was also the Vice Chancellor of Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University.
03 Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 to 03 May 1969 Varahagiri Venkata Giri Zakir Hussain was the Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University, he also received Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969 Varahagiri Venkata Giri VV Giri became the acting President after the death of incumbent President Zakir Hussain.
Muhammad Hidayatullah 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969 Varahagiri Venkata Giri Hidayatullah was also the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India.
04 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974 Gopal Swaroop Pathak Giri was the only person who became both the acting President and the President. He also received Bharat Ratna.
05 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977 Basappa Danappa Jatti Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed died while in office. He was the second president whose term could not be completed.
Basappa Danappa Jatti 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977 After the death of Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed became the acting President of India. He was the Chief Minister of Mysore State.
06 Neelam Sanjiv Reddy 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982 Muhammad Hidayatullah He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. And also the sixth President of India.
07 Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987 Ramaswamy Venkataraman Zail Singh became the Chief Minister of Punjab and also became the Home Minister.
08 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992 Shankar Dayal Sharma Venkataraman went to jail for the freedom struggle movement. After his release from jail, he was a member of Congress party.
09 Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997 He was the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh and the Minister of Communications of India. He was also the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.
10 Of. R. Narayanan 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002 Krishna Kant Narayanan had been India’s ambassador to China, Thailand and the US.
11 Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat Kalam was a scientist and contributed to the development of missiles and nuclear weapons. He also received Bharat Ratna. He is also known as Missile Man.
12 Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012 Mohammad Hamid Ansari First woman President of India. first woman governor of Rajasthan.
13 Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017 Mohammad Hamid Ansari He has been the Defense Minister, External Affairs Minister, Finance Minister, and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission in the Government of India.
14 Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 to Present Venkaiah Naidu He has been the Governor of Bihar and a member of Rajya Sabha.

Author: Official Website:- www.employmentnewser.com